Supported by an implementation grant co-funded by the Teagle Foundation and the Davis Educational Foundation, NEBHE is developing systematic transfer pathways between community colleges and four-year independent colleges in Connecticut, Massachusetts and Rhode Island, with a focus on the liberal arts.

NEBHE is partnering with the Connecticut Conference of Independent Colleges (CCIC), Association of Independent Colleges and Universities in Massachusetts (AICUM), Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Rhode Island (AICURI) and community colleges in the three states to establish admission transfer guarantees.

The New England College Transfer Guarantee (the Guarantee) ensures acceptance at a participating independent nonprofit four-year institution for students graduating from a community college with an associate degree. The overarching aim of the project is for students who meet eligibility criteria and are covered under the Guarantee, to be able to transfer as juniors and be fully prepared to successfully complete a bachelor’s degree. The Guarantee promotes equity, opportunity and access in higher education.

The Guarantee is a state-specific initiative, select your state below for detailed information, participating institutions and links to student-facing landing pages.


For more information, contact Emily Decatur at or 617.533.9513.